Blended faith home….how does it work?

I have been asked this many times and honestly it’s hard to answer because it just does.  But a few important things I think I should share that work for us Mr. Spirit a Christian and myself and Pagan.

1) Respect is a must
2) Understanding that you are not always going to agree one what is right
3) Support each other in their chosen paths

So let me start with respect.

Things would never work if I didn’t respect that Mr. Spirit believe differently than I.  And they wouldn’t work if he didn’t respect my beliefs.  Mr. Spirit over the years has had many people ask and or tell him to make me change what I believe.  He understand where they are coming from but at the same time he doesn’t get it.  Why would he want to force me to believe something that I myself couldn’t no longer force myself to believe in.

He knew that it wouldn’t be true faith, it would be going through the motions and he didn’t want that for me he respected me and that path that I am on that it’s right for me.  Do I think he wishes that I would convert? Honestly I don’t know I know that we rub off on one another and of faiths change with every passing day.

As for me I could never ask or try and force Mr. Spirit to believe as me.  I truly believe god speaks to us all in the way that is right for us to hear him and I truly believe Mr. Spirit is on the right path.  I do know that my faith makes it hard for him to follow a dream of his to be either an asst. chaplain/pastor or a Chaplain/Pastor.  Many churches at least that he has been to so far don’t like the blended faith home we have they will take him as a member but that’s about it.  I hate this and I am willing to be the good pastors wife and sit in church every Sunday and listen to him and do what is needed of me.  I am willing not to be out of the closet for this for him as it is I am mainly out online and that’s it.  But he refuses to ask that of me.

And with that you see how we respect each other and we try to support each other on our chosen paths.  When I say I am willing to be quite and hid my faith so he can meet his goals he doesn’t like that.

Now on to understanding.

Mr. Spirit and I have had many of debates on what we believe some he will look at me and say that he just doesn’t agree.  And you know what I am fine with that just like he will be answering questions for our oldest and who Jesus was and when I am asked I say I believe he was a man that lived but the son of god nope.  But I also try and be very respectful of the fact he believe that he is when I say it and I say mommy believes but many believe like daddy.  And Mr Spirit is normally quick to say that our oldest needs find his own path and see what he believes. (but that’s another post in it’s own my oldest and his journey)

Agree to disagree goes along way with this it also helps when we have fights every now and then to remember we don’t always have to agree and things will be ok.

Now on to supporting one another.

This we find easy I don’t know how to explain this we are partners in parenting and life and even our spiritual lives even though we don’t agree on paths.  We just support one another when they need it.  I support Mr. Spirit in finding a church and helping find where they are and websites for him to look up on and numbers to call.  Why because he works crazy hours.  I support him in making sure he has what he needs for his spiritual growth and that the days that are special to him are celebrated and as special as the days that are important to me.
It’s important to him to pray before meals so we do it.  And so many other things.  He supports me in making sure that I know that while with in my home I am safe and don’t have to had and if I need time to do a ritual it’s fine he will keep the kids busy.  If I need him to help me he does.  He is planning on praying with me over the Blessing Jar tomorrow because he knows it’s important to me.

I don’t see issues with blending faith it just takes communication (opps forgot that one in the list), respect, understanding and support just like everything else in a marriage.  So in the end I would like to say it’s easy there is no trick to having a blended faith home many people do it and I am not special because we do it.  It works for us is it for everyone no but that is how marriage and life is.

Any questions?

Blessings,
Spirit

Leave a Reply

